Wednesday, April 9, 2014

More News Regarding CC7s

We'll get back to regular blogging this weekend - we had quite the busy time finishing player evaluations and selecting our invites for the Stars Rugby 7s tour to Canada this summer (final roster to come in about 2 weeks)! In the meantime, there was BIG news from Central Coast 7s today that we had to share - The Australian Women's 7s National Team has officially confirmed their entry at CC7s!

Image: Getty (courtesy of ARU website)

There will be more to come as a little bird told us who the final women's teams will be; we'll wait for the formal press releases before publishing but will say this truly is the most competitive women's field they've ever boasted. We are incredibly honored to be involved.

Here's the latest from Tournament Director Craig Morgan:

We are pleased to announce the Australian Rugby Union as the latest team confirmed to contest the 2014 CC7s Kinesio Cup Women’s Division. The ARU join a magnificent field of competitors in what is widely regarded as the premier women’s sevens tournament in the Southern Hemisphere. The Kinesio Cup will see International, Provincial, Club and Invitational teams do battle in what will be a fiercely contested tournament. We look forward to announcing the final two teams over the next couple of weeks.

Teams Confirmed (no particular order):

1.      Australian Rugby Union (Aus) – Currently Second in the IRB World Series
2.      Brazil (Bra) – 2016 Olympic Host Nation
3.      Fijiana (Fiji) – Fijian National side | 2013 Fiji Coral Coast Sevens Champion
4.      Tribe 7 (Aus) – 2013 CC7s Champion
5.      Sunnybank (Aus) – 2012 CC7s Champion | 2013 CC7s Runner Up
6.      Stars Rugby (USA) – Sevens Development Program
7.      Rugirl 7 (Jap) – Japan’s Kanto Champion
8.      Northern United RFC (NZ) – Wellington Club Champions | American Ambassadors 7s Champions
9.      ACT Brumbies (Aus) – 2013 Australian National 7s Champion
10.   Te Whanau (Aus) – Invitational side featuring a number of players with International Rugby & Touch experience
11.   Rockdale (Aus) – Sydney Premier Club
12.   Melbourne City Silverbacks (Aus) – Victorian Premier Club
13.   Central Coast Academy of Sport (Aus) – Sevens Development Program
14.   Bay of Plenty (NZ) – New Zealand Provincial representative side
15.   To be announced soon
16.   To be announced soon



No comments:

Post a Comment