Thursday, March 13, 2014

Another Big Announcement from Australia's Central Coast 7s

The competition is really heating up for our October tour! There are 9 days left for player nominations (see the post here to submit your information) and we are looking forward to assembling a top notch squad for both July's North American selection tournament and Australia in the fall.

From the Central Coast 7s press release:

We are pleased to announce the Borneo Eagles as the latest team confirmed for the 2014 Fitness First CC7s. Borneo Eagles are a very strong invitational side based out of Sandakan Borneo with the team having been very successful on the Asian circuit featuring a host of premier players of NZ and Pacific Islands origins.

The Borneo Eagles join what is shaping as a magnificent field of men’s teams so far announced as per below (no particular order):

1.      Borneo Eagles
2.      Wellington Rugby Union (NZ) – 2014 New Zealand National Sevens Champions
3.      Yamacia (Fiji) – 2013 Fiji’s Coral Coast Sevens Champions
4.      Tribe 7s (Aus) – 2013 Shanghai Sevens Champions
5.      Daveta (Fiji) – Borneo Sevens Champions
6.      Rangataua (NZ) – 2014 Middlesex Sevens Champions
7.      Tiger Rugby (USA) – Olympic Development Program – Shanghai Sevens Runner Up
8.      Te Whanau (Aus) – Invitational side featuring premier level players
9.      Sunnybank (Aus) – 2011 CC7s Champions | 2012 CC7s Runner Up
10.   Warringah Rugby (Aus) – Sydney Premier Club
11.   Stars Rugby (USA) – Sevens Development Program
12.   New Zealand Four Nations (NZ) – Premier Invitational side associated to the College Rifles Club
13.   Announced Soon
14.   Announced Soon
15.   Announced Soon
16.   Announced Soon

The women’s field is also forming as a formidable field so far confirmed as follows (no particular order):

1.      Tribe 7s (Aus) – Defending CC7s Champions
2.      ACT Brumbies (Aus) – 2013 National Sevens Champions
3.      Sunnybank Rugby (Aus) – 2012 CC7s Champion | 2013 CC7s Runner Up
4.      Rugirl 7 (Jap) – Japan’s Kanto Champions
5.      Fijiana (Fiji) – Fiji National Side and Fiji’s Coral Coast Sevens Champions
6.      Te Whanau (Aus) – Premier invitational side often featuring a host of Rugby & Rugby league Internationals
7.      Stars Rugby (USA) - Sevens Development Program
8.      Melbourne City Silverbacks (Aus)
9.      Rockdale (Aus)
10.   Central Coast Academy of Sport (Aus) – Women’s Development Program
11.   Announced Soon
12.   Announced Soon
13.   Announced Soon
14.   Announced Soon
15.   Announced Soon
16.   Announced Soon

Other posts previewing the Central Coast 7s sides can be found here and here and here.

1 comment: