Saturday, March 15, 2014

Women's China Sevens Pools Announced

The next leg of the Women's Sevens World Series in China April 5th & 6th sees a few changes in terms of who is playing. China, Fiji and France are in (both France and Fiji last played on the Dubai leg of the series) and Argentina, The Netherlands and Japan out as compared to Brazil 7s. Argentina had replaced China from Atlanta to Sao Paulo.

 New Zealand has what appears to be the easiest pool with China, Brazil and Spain; it may end up more of a storyline to see if any team can put up any points against them in the pool round. Australia has it a tad tougher with England, Ireland and Fiji; this bracket could be quite unpredictable with the opportunity for some upsets. The USA has an extremely tough draw with Canada, Russia and France in Pool C as Canada and Russia have finished in the top 4 of each of the three previous tournaments to date. It is also a chance to make waves if the Eagles can maintain the gains they've made in regards to team play and cohesion. It is possible, though it seems a longer shot based on the strength of their pool, to see the Eagles make the Cup round again.

 The Stars will be particularly interested to see how Fiji does as their side will also be at Central Coast 7s in Australia in October - time to get some scouting work in!

Here's more from the iRB:

Schedule announced for China Sevens in April

 Schedule announced for China Sevens in April
Australia will hope to bring their form from Brazil 
into the next round in China in April
The pools and schedule for the next round of the IRB Women's Sevens World Series in China have been announced. 

Following on from a successful round three in Brazil, the series visits the University Town Stadium in Guangzhou on April 5 and 6. 

The pool draw sees a series of exciting match-ups on day one, before the knockout stages on Day two.
It will be an important weekend for the Series - there's nothing to separate rivals Australia and New Zealand who are both on 56 points, eight points ahead of Canada in third place. 

Pool A sees last year's champions New Zealand drawn against Spain, Brazil and hosts China. 

Australia come into round four on a high after winning round three in Sao Paulo in February, and they're drawn in Pool B alongside England, Ireland and Fiji. 

Pool C has drawn Canada in a tough group where they'll face Russia, USA and France. 

IRB Head of Competition and Performance Mark Egan said: "The Road to Rio is getting shorter and Guangzhou is another opportunity for these players to get quality competition time ahead of the Olympic Games in 2016." 

"The third round in Sao Paulo saw yet another fantastic final between Australia and New Zealand, and I expect fans in Guangzhou will witness another excellent weekend of Rugby at the University Stadium."
All the action from the fourth round of the IRB Women's Sevens World Series in Guangzhou will be streamed live on from 10am on Saturday April 5 (GMT +8) 

Australia, Canada, England, Ireland, New Zealand, Russia, Spain and USA are core teams on the 2013/14 IRB Women’s Sevens World Series after reaching the quarter-finals of Rugby World Cup Sevens 2013. The eight core teams compete across all rounds of the Series. 

IRB Women's Sevens World Series 2013/14: Dates and Venues:
First leg: Dubai, United Arab Emirates - November 28-29, 2013
Second leg: Atlanta, Georgia, USA - February 15-16, 2014
Third leg: Arena Barueri, São Paulo, Brazil - February 21-22, 2014
Fourth leg: Guangzhou University Town Stadium, Guangzhou, China - April 5-6 2014
Fifth leg: National Rugby Centrum, Amsterdam, Netherlands - May 16-17, 2014

1 comment:

  1. Good topics & articles these are so important for anyone.This is a fantastic website, could you be interested in going through an interview concerning just how you made it? I very much enjoyed reading your description. You can visit my site Pools